New York, New York

The city so nice, they named it twice.

I’m not too sure why it took so long, but it wasn’t until just three weeks ago that I made my first visit down to New York City, and what a city it is.

First of all, the architecture in New York is just amazing. Some of the structures here are absolutely breathtaking. My two standout favourites were the Brooklyn Bridge and the World Trade Centre Oculus.

I don’t know what it is, but there’s something so beautiful about how perfectly symmetrical these two structures are.

But you know what else is beautiful? Pizza at Grimaldi’s.

New York is famous for its pizzerias and Grimaldi’s did not disappoint. We ordered a small regular pizza with jalapeños and Italian sausage and had two slices each between the three of us. The pizza here was absolutely mouth-watering. Don’t believe me? Take a look at me stuffing my face.

I regret nothing. Except maybe we should have ordered a large… or maybe a pizza each. Don’t judge me.

Last but not least, the entire vibe of the city was something else. I’ve been to a few metropolises including Toronto and Kuala Lumpur but neither of those two cities measure up to New York.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a city so densely populated before. There were actual moments where I was walking around Times Square feeling claustrophobic, but the phobia didn’t last. I didn’t feel threatened in these crowds. Rather, there was a certain comfort felt amongst these thousands of strangers.

New Yorkers tend to have this reputation of being brutish but I didn’t experience that one bit. Matter of fact, it was the first time where I felt like I was at home in Toronto while being completely somewhere else. Of course, no one is as kind and polite as Canadians, but the New Yorkers I came across were a close second.

So New York, I guess that means I’ll be seeing you again hopefully sooner than later!

Leave a comment